Almost here — Echoes from the Alum Chine….

9781483466828_pap.indd

Oh, yes. It’s almost here, and I am so in love with this book. Excuse the hubris, but what mother doesn’t love her child?

Echoes from the Alum Chine is not available quite yet, but meanwhile I had to share this wonderful cover. Photograph by the iconic photographer of Baltimore, A. Aubrey Bodine. I think that it conveys the melancholy overtone of the story that follows three families in the aftermath of the 1913  explosion in the Baltimore Harbor of 300 tons of dynamite being loaded onto the steamer Alum Chine:  the Aylesforths, who live in the big house on Hollins Street; the Corporals, in the alley behind, and the Sherwoods, whose company insures the cargo.The story is told by the shy, forgotten Lillian Gish Corporal, who stands by and observes.

The Baltimore book launch is set for Saturday, April 22, at the Irish Railroad Workers’ Museum, 920 Lemmon Street in the heart of Hollins Street and Union Square (SoWeBo to those hipster Baltimoreans in the know).  I’ll be speaking to the group on “The Historical Novel: Fact, Fancy and Research,” at 11:30 a.m. The launch and book-signing will follow at 1 p.m.

I do hope that my Baltimore friends will be able to attend – as well as anyone (isn’t that a bit overconfident?) interested in Baltimore history.

The Greensboro launch will be later this spring.

So, it’s here – or almost here. And, after such a winter of political dread, I am ecstatic.

http://www.cynthiastrauff.com Author of Another Sunday and Echoes from the Alum Chine

 

 

One response to “Almost here — Echoes from the Alum Chine….

  1. Congratulations, Cynthia! What wonderful news! I look forward to reading Alum Chine. The cover is very attractive. A. Aubrey Bodine is my favorite Baltimore photographer of that time period. I remember his photos being featured in the Baltimore Sunday Sun, magazine section.

    I believe my mother, Aunt Catherine and Uncle Donald (Dick’s dad) lived on Hollins Street near Union Square around the time of your novel.

    I wish I could attend your lecture. Work and distance makes it impossible but I will soon be retired and able to participate in such fun events.

    I can’t wait to journey back in time and experience Baltimore during the time my mother was a little girl.

    Wishing you blessings and success with your writing career. Congratulations!

    Like

Leave a Reply

