On Speaking Up, Speaking Out, and Returning to a Rhythm

bbcnews

On Speaking Up, Speaking Out, and Returning to a Rhythm

Sanity is a valuable possession; I hoard it the way people once hoarded money. I save it, so I will have enough, when the time comes.” —Margaret Atwood, The Handmaid’s Tale

Equanimity, logic, a semblance of order is returning to my life. The days of hysterical disbelief are behind me now, though I still cannot watch TV news, nor listen to NPR. My conduit to the political reality is BBC News, the outrageous delivered in palliative tones, so that I can absorb what is being presented without driving off the road. I check Facebook sources before reading, and have found that I am better off limiting my time and energies in that regard. Yes, lucid thought has almost returned.

That is my wish for all who are affected by this election – those who are pleased, as well as those who remain astounded. When it appears that our president-elect has made a rational decision – as in not prosecuting a political opponent, I am amazed that some of his worst critics now say that he is reneging on his campaign promises. While I am not yet in a place where I rely on his word, why would one be critical of such a move? The “I-told-you-so” rejoinder seems to have outstripped common sense. Would that all of us can return to judiciousness soon.

And that is not to say that becoming more measured is the same as accepting statements, beliefs, actions that violate our beliefs. Rather it is a way to channel energies and efforts in ways that can be heard and not criticized nor denigrated as ravings of sore losers.

Yes, we must continue to speak up and speak out, even if our voices shake. And eventually, they won’t shake, and our grammar will become accurate, and we will be able to form complete sentences. And maybe we will be able to remain calm, and polite, and open-hearted. And maybe we will be heard.

So I am hoarding what sanity remains. I will focus my political efforts. I’m not a joiner; I won’t be going to Washington in January, though I truly support those who will be there. I will speak up and speak out if I see anyone denigrated, including myself, and work hard not to denigrate those who don’t agree with me. I will work, with my time and my money, for universal health care, and try to figure out what one person can do.

And get on with the rhythm of my days.

Another Sunday, http://www.cynthiastrauff.com

 

Leave a Reply

