I Wish I Could Paint

watercolor poppies

I Wish I Could Paint

When I can’t find words, when our country can’t find words, to express our feelings on this past week, I wish I could paint. I wish I could put together pinks, and blues, and greens in cloudlike forms, wispy traces of white, something, anything that could help us see hope.

Hope seems to be in short supply these days. Killings just one more item before turning the page, changing the channel, though this week seemed worse than most, at least since Sandy Hook, or Columbine, or….  And who can remember the murders just last month?

When President Obama, at his Saturday press conference, was asked about gun control, he sighed. And that sigh said it all, for all of us. We can write on Facebook; we can Twitter #enough, yet in the end we sigh.

And I wish I could paint.

www.cynthiastrauff.com, Another Sunday

Leave a Reply

